Facebook is the world’s largest social network with over 800 million users. With so many users, privacy is of utmost importance. Facebook offers a system called “granular privacy settings”, which provides control over your privacy features to a certain extent. Are you worried about your privacy settings?
Read on for some steps that will help you to protect your information on Facebook.
Before even doing any of this, make sure to enable a secure connection to Facebook. To do so, first click on the arrow in the top right corner of the Facebook page, then select “Account Settings”. On the left, select “Security”, and then click on “Secure Browsing”. Check the box that says “Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) when possible”. Once you have selected this, save changes, and you’re good to go! Your connection to Facebook is now secure.
Facebook offers four core privacy settings, and the ability to customize your privacy. These settings allow you to control who can see your posts, photos, etc:
- Friends and Networks
- Friends of friends
- Only friends
Let’s go over these different settings in a little bit more detail.
Everyone: This settings means that the information in your profile – such as photos, videos, friends list, wall posts, etc – is visible to everyone on Facebook.
By selecting this option, your profile information can be viewed by people other than your friends, which can lead to the misuse of your information. If you are selecting this option, make sure you don’t put sensitive information such as your photos, videos, and contact information in your profile.
Friends & Networks: By selecting this option, you are making sure that your profile information can only be viewed by your friends, as well as networks such as your university or professional organization in which you are a member. If you are not a member of any network, you don’t need to worry,because only your friends will be able to view your profile information.
Friends of Friends: This setting can be selected if you are willing to share your profile information with – you guessed it – the friends of your friends. If you select this setting, you are not sharing your information with everyone on Facebook, however, people you do not know will still be able to gleam information from your profile.
Only friends: In this option, you are restricting your profile information to your friends. This means that only your friends can see your photos, like your status, etc. Other than your friends, no one can access your profile information. This is the most recommended option if you do not want to get your hands dirty with custom privacy settings.
Custom: If you want to share your information only with a selected set of friends on your friends list, you can select this option. It allows you to restrict specific parts of your profile to hand picked friends.
Another very useful privacy feature is the ability to change your privacy settings for each and every thing that you post on your profile. For example you can change your privacy settings for each status update, as shown here.
Keeping privacy settings under control will help you to keep your confidential information safe, and keep prying eyes away from your online profile.