chrome_browser

Google Chrome is one of the best options available to surf the Internet. It is fast, rich in feature and has a vast array of extensions so that you can customize it to your preference. As such, Chrome has quite a few built in security features that you can use to secure your browsing.

You can download Google Chrome at https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/.

Note: Many of these settings are found under advanced settings. To find this, click on the button with three lines next to the address bar, and select “Settings”. Then, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on “Show advanced settings”.

Google Chrome Security Tips

  1. Enable Malware and Phishing Protection:

    Make sure that Chrome’s malware and phishing protection is enabled. You can find this in the Privacy section of Settings. Chrome will warn you whenever you try to visit a site that is deemed malicious by Google.
    It also corrects misspelled URLs, which prevents users from going to different sites which are dangerous.
    chrome_privacy

  2. Encrypt your Synced Data:

    One of the highly convenient features of Chrome is that it syncs your saved data and settings across multiple devices running Chrome. The problem here, however, is that the saved data includes most of your passwords. If someone hacks into your Google account, they’ll have access to all the passwords you ever saved on Chrome.

    Fortunately, Chrome allows you to encrypt all of your synced data using a custom syncing passphrase. This passphrase helps you to store the synced data on your computer and isn’t sent to Google. By doing so, you can add an extra layer of security and keep your synced passwords truly private.

    You can find this setting under “Sign in” > Settings. Select “Advanced Sync Settings”, and select “Encrypt all synced data with your own sync passphrase”.
    chrome_advanced_sync_settings

  3. For added privacy, turn off instant search:

    The Instant search feature should be turned off for optimal security. Having this feature enabled means that you type in the address bar is instantly sent to Google. You can find this under “Privacy”. The setting is called “Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar or the app launcher search box”.

  4. Enable Security Notifications:

    Though this is more of a Google security feature, it can help you detect when somebody has hacked into your account – meaning they have access to your synced information (hopefully not your passwords, read #2!).

    From the Google Account Security page, activate Security notification settings. This will notify you via text or a email when it detects suspicious activity such as a password change you didn’t make or when someone tries to sign in with your Google Account from a suspicious location.

Share on Facebook0Share on Google+3Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on Tumblr